Someone Tried to Rob My Grandpa (True Story)

Now I haven’t fully pieced together the entire story here. But I have the bulk of it, and I wanted to share it with ya.

This morning, my Grandpa gets a phone call (he lives in Florida, I live in Illinois.)

The man on the other end of the line says he’s a lawyer with one of his grandsons. He replies “which grandson, I have a lot of grandsons?” – The guy acts like he can’t remember the name.

My grandpa says, “Owen?”

“Lawyer” says, “Yeah that’s it. Owen was in a car accident last night and accidentally ran into the back of a car that belonged to some gentlemen from the Dominican Republic. He’s ok, his nose is broken, but he’s going to be alright. Please don’t tell his parents as he doesn’t want anyone to know.

My grandpa responds, “Well of course I’m going to tell his parents, I’m going to call em right now.”

The lawyer says they need $2,200 to help bail me out of the county jail!

My grandpa says, “I think you need to shut up.”

Lawyer- “No one tells me to shut up.”

Grandpa, “I just did.” and hangs up the phone.

In which case Grandpa calls my parents who call me trying to figure out what the heck is going on.

All this to say. SOMEONE is out there scamming innocent old grandma and grandpa trying to get a little green. The sad part is, they wouldn’t be doing it, if no one was falling for it.

Super glad my grandpa has plenty of old man power to scare these gangsters off.

The funny thing is, I don’t even have my grandpa’s phone number. If I want to talk with him, I go to my parents house and talk to him on speaker phone.

The lesson here kids?
Don’t have anything to do with your grandparents, or scam artists will steal $2,200 from them.

be safe.

About owenpye

Owen Pye began playing in 2005, with just a guitar and a plan: To share music with willing listeners. As cliche as that may seem, it’s exactly what he’s doing. Pye was getting a lot of exposure on myspace, with his boastful 20,000 fans and thorough independently booked tour schedule in his early years supporting his debut album “If That’s Cool With You.” To date, Owen Pye has shared the stage with some of the best up and coming artists including Deas Vail (Mono VS. Stereo) Dr. Manhattan (Vagrant) and New London Fire (Eyeball.) He has independently booked over 250 shows in the United States. In 2008 he teamed up with some friends to form a consistent full-band line-up known as “Owen Pye & The Sunday School Band.” With the help of producer and engineer Andrew Osenga (Caedmon’s Call, The Normals) they released their self-titled record to the masses in late 2009. During the summer of 2010, Pye began his solo project with Blackroom Records. When asked about the upcoming project, Owen Pye responded, “This is very, very exciting and I am SO pumped to work with these folks for the next year in support of the record.” To learn more about Owen Pye, pickup a CD, download an MP3 or come out to a show near you. http://www.owenpye.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

