my wife

An excellent wife who can find?
She is far more precious than jewels.
The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain.
She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.
She seeks wool and flax, and works with willing hands.
She is like the ships of the merchant; she brings her food from afar.
She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household and portions for her maidens.
She considers a field and buys it; with the fruit of her hands she plants a vineyard.
She dresses herself with strength and makes her arms strong.
She perceives that her merchandise is profitable.
Her lamp does not go out at night.
She puts her hands to the distaff, and her hands hold the spindle.
She opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy.
She is not afraid of snow for her household, for all her household are clothed in scarlet.
She makes bed coverings for herself; her clothing is fine linen and purple.
Her husband is known in the gates when he sits among the elders of the land.
She makes linen garments and sells them;
She delivers sashes to the merchant.
Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come.
She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.
Her children rise up and call her blessed; Her husband also, and he praises her:
“Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.”
Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
Give her of the fruit of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates.
Image
I am so thankful to be married to this lady. In August we will have been married for 4 years.

We met in winter 2006. I was playing a free show put on by a church in town. They had a very generous sponsor for the event and had purchased a bunch of door prizes. One of which was a guitar that I had acquired and had no use for. They labeled it as “Owen Pye’s guitar” as one of the prizes.

Jillian and her family were suffering along with many others that winter from a power outage due to extreme weather conditions. It usually takes extreme cases like these before people will actually consider leaving their homes and coming to an Owen Pye concert. Her and 2 of her besties got lost on the way to show, and missed my set completely (this is a usual excuse for show attendees missing my set, that or preferring a 45 minute smoke break.) At any rate. They arrived eventually. Minutes after their arrival they raffled off the guitar. Jillian looks at her ticket and realizes that she’s the winner.

Jillian came over and introduced herself later that evening and told me her name and that she had won my guitar.

I was kind of taken back by her bold introduction. I’m not really used to beautiful women approaching me and wanting to speak with me. We left it at an awkward “nice meeting you” note. I was in a long distance relationship at this point in time.

I stopped seeing the girl I was dating a couple of months after our introduction. Jillian invited me to come check out her church. At this time I was looking for a new church, and a single dude living at home. After a month or so of just being friends, we started to date. 6 months later I proposed to her, and she said she’d go through with it.

I’m not much of a romantic dude, by any means. I just knew that she was the one I was supposed to marry and that God brought her into my life for his ultimate purpose and glory.

I wish I could tell you I’m a perfect husband, but I know I have taken her for granted many times since we’ve been married. This is something I’m always repenting of. With God’s grace, I’m trying to glorify our marriage and lead her well.

Some of our favorite things to do together (besides kissing), are traveling, listening to music, having OC or The Office marathons-it doesn’t matter. Oh and eat. We like to eat.

If you guys don’t know my wife, she’s a very rad blogger and makes tons of sweet things with her hands. She didn’t ask me to plug her web presence, I just am because I do that for all people I appreciate deeply. Do yourself a favor and read some entries in her blog and go buy some rad stuff in her store!:

About owenpye

Owen Pye began playing in 2005, with just a guitar and a plan: To share music with willing listeners. As cliche as that may seem, it’s exactly what he’s doing. Pye was getting a lot of exposure on myspace, with his boastful 20,000 fans and thorough independently booked tour schedule in his early years supporting his debut album “If That’s Cool With You.” To date, Owen Pye has shared the stage with some of the best up and coming artists including Deas Vail (Mono VS. Stereo) Dr. Manhattan (Vagrant) and New London Fire (Eyeball.) He has independently booked over 250 shows in the United States. In 2008 he teamed up with some friends to form a consistent full-band line-up known as “Owen Pye & The Sunday School Band.” With the help of producer and engineer Andrew Osenga (Caedmon’s Call, The Normals) they released their self-titled record to the masses in late 2009. During the summer of 2010, Pye began his solo project with Blackroom Records. When asked about the upcoming project, Owen Pye responded, “This is very, very exciting and I am SO pumped to work with these folks for the next year in support of the record.” To learn more about Owen Pye, pickup a CD, download an MP3 or come out to a show near you. http://www.owenpye.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to my wife

  1. Paula Bianca says:

    So sweet. 🙂 I love you guys!

Leave a Reply

