So…I moved to Florida

tampa

Wow. Let me blow the dust off this site real quick.
Ahh…That’s better.

Since I’ve last updated this thing a lot has changed for me. I’ll try and keep this short and sweet. Almost as long as I’ve been playing music as a serious profession, I’ve also been involved with experiential marketing, aka my “real” job. The word “real” only signifies the financial part of the job, as playing music has been the most difficult occupation to date. I digress.

This time last year I managed an event at the Florida State Fair for a company based in the Southeast. Over the course of a three-week contract and being far away from my wife and kids I was able to grab dinner with my friend I’ve made in this industry and his beautiful wife, Ashley. Adam and she have become some of our greatest friends:

sutton

It wasn’t long after seeing them again that I get this text from Adam asking me to pray and consider re-locating and accept a full-time position at his company, Thuzi.

Jillian and I  began thinking and praying through this, asking God to give us peace and discernment. We spent weeks and months coming up with the right decision. This was not easy for us to make. I was leading worship on-staff at a church we had watched grow from joining the plant just 5 months in to it’s existence. We lived 20 minutes from both sets of grandparents. Some of our greatest friends were just a stone’s throw away. Our roots were deeply set in the St. Louis Metro East.

I asked God if we were making the wrong decision for Him to make it clear to me. Or for there to be some push-back in our conversation with family, loved ones and people we looked to for advice and council. I found nothing but affirmation from the people we spoke with, and even further confirmation we were doing what we felt God wanted us to do.

I sat down with the elders at my church and told them everything. My friends and pastors, looked at me and replied, “We’ve been praying for this opportunity to come for you for years…we just hoped it would be here in St. Louis.” They prayed for me and once again and I was on my way. All of this confirming even further our decision.

Fast forward to…now.

opye

Jillian and I are learning how to do normal ‘life stuff.’ We are tapping into that seemingly elementary skill of making new friends, which has proved much more difficult than I ever thought…(guys… I’m not cool anymore.) We are still “searching” for a church, though I think we’ve found where we are supposed to be. We’re learning where to buy groceries, where people bring their kids when they don’t have extra money, but still want their kids to have fun (the beach is free!)

I haven’t played music or led worship since moving here, which has left a bit of  a hole for me. I am looking forward to flying to Illinois this weekend to lead worship for some students. What a treat that will be to serve in this way. I’m hoping by God’s grace, for more opportunities to rear their head in this way.

My ultimate prayer is for my wife and kids to find their place here, for me to be a good husband and dad and lead them well. They are the world to me.

I think a tour is long overdue. Along with new music. Along with…

To God be the glory!

 

About owenpye

Owen Pye began playing in 2005, with just a guitar and a plan: To share music with willing listeners. As cliche as that may seem, it’s exactly what he’s doing. Pye was getting a lot of exposure on myspace, with his boastful 20,000 fans and thorough independently booked tour schedule in his early years supporting his debut album “If That’s Cool With You.” To date, Owen Pye has shared the stage with some of the best up and coming artists including Deas Vail (Mono VS. Stereo) Dr. Manhattan (Vagrant) and New London Fire (Eyeball.) He has independently booked over 250 shows in the United States. In 2008 he teamed up with some friends to form a consistent full-band line-up known as “Owen Pye & The Sunday School Band.” With the help of producer and engineer Andrew Osenga (Caedmon’s Call, The Normals) they released their self-titled record to the masses in late 2009. During the summer of 2010, Pye began his solo project with Blackroom Records. When asked about the upcoming project, Owen Pye responded, “This is very, very exciting and I am SO pumped to work with these folks for the next year in support of the record.” To learn more about Owen Pye, pickup a CD, download an MP3 or come out to a show near you. http://www.owenpye.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

